## **Overview and Scrutiny Committee – 28 November 2017**

## Item 12 – Update on Leader's Task Group for Economic Development

Following the EDEG meeting on 28th September the Chairman of the EDEG and Leader met to review the workings of the EDEG, in accordance with the Terms of Reference of the EDEG. It was agreed that the presence of only the Chairman, Leader and one member on 28th September was disappointing, and that future meetings should be suspended pending a thorough review taking place.

This review meeting subsequently took place on 7th November with Cllr Patel, Leader, Daniel Mouawad, Keith McGroary and Tracey Carter present. At that meeting it was agreed that the Terms of Reference should be updated. These are attached.

It was also agreed that membership should be reviewed. Councillor Membership now consists of:

Daxa Patel (Chair)

Mark Francis

Olivia Rybinski

Sabine Capes

Richard Barratt

Colin Barnard

Leader of the Council (at his discretion)

At the suggestion of Cllr Patel it was agreed that in order to widen the reach and scope, and broaden available skills, that representatives of local businesses be invited to join ex-oficio. Four invitations have been sent and responses awaited.

It is planned that the next meeting of EDEG will be on 5th December but this may be slightly delayed due to time constraints

We will report further pertinent updates as and when they arise.

lan Harvey, Leader.